Ask A Librarian

Search Committee Tapped to Find New WVU Libraries Dean

Posted by Monte Maxwell.
October 22nd, 2012

A search committee has been formed to select a new dean for West Virginia University Libraries.

The committee will be led by Eberly College of Arts and Sciences Dean Robert Jones. Library faculty will be represented by Beth Royall and Hilary Fredette, while Library staff will be represented by Thea Browne.

Four faculty members were chosen at-large. They are: Lisa Weihman, associate professor in English; Robert Tallaksen, professor and vice chair, radiology; Rebecca Chory, professor, communication studies; and Richard Turton, professor in chemical engineering.

Two students will also serve. They are Paul Garton, an undergraduate student in the Honors College, and Juan Mundel, a graduate student in journalism.

Dr. John Stealey, a member of the Library Visiting Committee and the Capital Campaign Committee, has also agreed to serve.

The West Virginia University Libraries include the Downtown Campus Library; the Charles C. Wise Jr. Library; the Evansdale Library; the Health Sciences Library, located in the Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Center; and the Law Library, located in the Law School. The WVU Libraries provide access to electronic resources 24 hours a day at

The WVU Libraries’ onsite collections include more than 2.1 million books and 48,000 current journal subscriptions. WVU Libraries offer students electronic access to more than 246 networked databases, more than 300,000 eBooks, and more than 45,700 online electronic journals.

Myra N. Lowe has been serving as interim dean since January, following the retirement of Frances O’Brien.

Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>