Ask A Librarian

University Press Director Named

Posted by Monte Maxwell.
October 8th, 2014

Derek Krissoff, Editor in Chief of the University of Nebraska Press, has been named the new Director of the West Virginia University Press.

“We are excited for Derek Krissoff to lead the award-winning WVU Press,” Dean of Libraries Jon E. Cawthorne said. “Derek brings expertise and vision that will help the WVU Libraries and Press to identify new opportunities and ventures in publishing that define success of university presses.”



Krissoff begins his new position at WVU on December 8.

“It’s an honor to join the smart and capable staff at the WVU Press, a strong publisher that is, I’m convinced, poised for even greater things,” Krissoff said. “I’m excited to work with people at the university, throughout the state, and around the world to expand the press’s publishing program in new and relevant directions.”

Krissoff currently directs the acquisitions editorial department at the University of Nebraska Press, one of the largest state university presses in the United States. Before coming to Nebraska, Krissoff was Senior Editor at the University of Georgia Press. He has collaborated on multi-press grants from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and presented frequently at annual meetings of the Association of American University Presses. Krissoff has worked with a number of prominent writers and intellectuals, including David Harvey, Claire Potter, Ted Kooser, Annelise Orleck, and Charles Reagan Wilson.

He received his bachelor of arts from Wesleyan University in 1993 and did doctoral work in history at the State University of New York in Buffalo.

“All of us on the search committee agreed that Derek stood out among a great field of candidates,” said James Harms, WVU professor of English and chair of the press director search committee. “He impressed us with his knowledge of the publishing field and his ideas about the avenues we can pursue.”

The WVU Press publishes about 17-20 books each year, as well as four journals, and has received national recognition as an award-winning Press. So far this year, three of its titles have won awards. Founded in the 1960s by Dean of Libraries Robert F. Munn, the Press moved to the Eberly College of Arts and Sciences in 1999. Management of the Press returned to the Libraries in July 2014.

Jack Farrell & Associates assisted the Libraries with the search.

Carrie Mullen has served as press director on a part-time basis. She was preceded by Dr. Pat Conner, who was in charge of operations from 1999 to 2008.


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>